Letter, Freda Satchell

Maker
Satchell, Frederica
Production date
13 Jan 1922
Current rights
Public Domain
See full details

Object detail

Brief Description
a) Letter written by Freda Satchell in Napier to her cousin Percy Hamshar in England, dated 13th January 1922. Freda tells Percy that the family has moved house and are now living on Guy's Hill. "My grandfather had a place next door many years ago when I was a youngster, so it was like old times coming back here again." They have another daughter, now aged 19 months. "I was awfully disappointed but she is a plaything for the girls." Amy and Evelyn are both at school now. The family goes swimming often, which Freda prefers to tennis for exercise. For 30 years Guy's Hill had just four houses, but since they have purchased there another four houses have been built and others are planned. "The Napier fire engine had never been up here and it gave the old residents a start when it landed up here in the middle of the night to suppress an outbreak in a washhouse not far from us." Napier Main School has been built opposite their former home. Their present house is the seventh they have lived in since she and Harry were married, "there fore ought to be lucky."

b) Envelope addressed to Mr Percy Hamshar, Great Bookham, Leatherhead, Surrey, England.
Production date
13 Jan 1922
Production period
Media/Materials description
Three lined pages
Measurements
Height x Width: 245 x 257mm
Height x Width: 82 x 140mm
Subject period
Subject date
13 Jan 1922
Credit line
gifted by Robyn Kunaiti
Other number(s)
2018/10/20, 95299
Accession number
2018/10/20

Share

Public comments

Be the first to comment on this object record.

Google reCaptchaThis site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.