Letter, Fred Hamshar

Maker
Hamshar, Frederick
Production date
20 Jun 1881
Current rights
Public Domain
See full details

Object detail

Brief Description
Letter written by Fred Hamshar in Hawke's Bay to his brother Tom in England, dated 20th June 1881. Fred recalls being in Maraekakaho the last time he wrote, nearly three months ago. The postmaster there is a girl he knew while at Taheke. "Now she IS a girl, none of the straight laced sort but a proper specimen of a colonial bushman, one that can ride and use the stock whip, break in young cows, milk, or split shingles and use an axe like a man and yet be a lady (a colonial one) in a ball room, at least so other people say." After a fortnight's swagging, Fred is back in Wairoa, having earned his passage working as a lumper. He describes the fun he used to have playing with an amateur brass band, parading through town. Uncle [James Hamshar] considered selling his land, but now says Fred may as well have it; about 150 acres is flat land and the rest hill covered with thick fern and manuka which takes a long time to clear. Money is tight. Both uncle and aunt are pressuring him to get married.
Production date
20 Jun 1881
Production period
Media/Materials description
Two bifold pages
Measurements
Height x Width: 215 x 135mm
Subject period
Subject date
20 Jun 1881
Credit line
gifted by Robyn Kunaiti
Other number(s)
2018/10/9, 95287
Accession number
2018/10/9

Share

Public comments

Be the first to comment on this object record.

Google reCaptchaThis site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.