Te Awa Ladies' Hockey Club

Sorrell, Percy Caz
Production date
Current rights
Public Domain
See full details

Object detail

About this object
Portrait of the Te Awa Ladies' Hockey Club, Senior Team, 1937. The group are posed outside in two rows. The sitters are identified on the mount as: Back row (from left to right): Charles H. Simmonds (Coach), M Hill, E Steel, J Trotter, G Redshaw, L Spence, and R Spence. Front row (from left to right): B Daniells, M Simmonds (Captain), and B Grant (Vice Captain). Absent: M Haraki, E O'Brien, B Keebles, and N Keebles.

A shield plaque and two trophies are displayed in front of the team. It is noted on the mount that the team were winners of the Hawkes Bay Championship, King's Birthday Tournament, and Vercoe Challenge Cup.

Photographer, P C Sorrell.
Date, 1937.
Production date
Production technique
Media/Materials description
Black and white photograph mounted on card.
Photograph: Height x Width: 147 x 196mm
Card backing: Height x Width: 247 x 302mm
P. C. Sorrell, Photo, Napier, Photographers details, Printed
Subject period
Subject date
Collection of Hawke's Bay Museums Trust, Ruawharo Tā-ū-rangi, 11913
Credit Line
gifted by Shirley Eddy
Other number(s)
m2002/96/27, 11913, 84654


Public comments

Be the first to comment on this object record.

Google reCaptchaThis site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.