Napier District School

Production date
Oct 1879
Current rights
Public Domain
See full details

Object detail

About this object
A photographs of Napier District School children and teachers with the original envelope.

a) Photograph of Napier District Public School pupils taken in 1879. On the back is printed: Martin's Hawke's Bay series of photographs of schools.
Napier district public school. Boys, 338. Girls, 333.

Headmaster - Mr A B Thompson, Second Master - Mr W Murray, Third Master - vacant. Girl's Mistress - Mrs Stanley, Infant Mistress - Miss Mann, Assistant - Miss Rowbottom.
Six Pupil Teachers.
Chairman of Committee - Mr John McVay, Secretary - Mr George Scarfe.

Dated, October 1879.

(b) An envelope which lists the names of the people in photograph as:
Walter Harding, Charles Laws, W. Burton, Oscar Alpers, Collinge (difficult to decipher), Andrew Guy, Will White, James Cowell, Norman Grubb, W. Powell, Harold Large, William Graham, Elizabeth Calder, Louie Bowden, Mary McCormick, Jane Graham, Elizabeth McPherson.
Production date
Oct 1879
Production period
Production technique
Media/Materials description
Sepia photograph on mount, with paper envelope.
Height x Width: 62 x 120mm
Height x Width: 90 x 150mm
Subject period
Subject date
Collection of Hawke's Bay Museums Trust, Ruawharo Tā-ū-rangi, 844
Other number(s)
844, 80841


Public comments

Be the first to comment on this object record.

Google reCaptchaThis site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.