Ledger book, Napier Earthquake Relief Committee Clothing Department

Napier Earthquake Relief Fund Committee
Production date
Post 03 Feb 1931

Object detail

Brief Description
Ledger book related to the Napier Earthquake Relief Fund Committee Clothing Department. The label on the cover reads: Napier Earthquake Relief Committee Clothing Department Ledger.

The front section of the ledger is tabulated with the letters of the alphabet. Under each letter are the names of both individuals, departments and companies, with a page number. The page number relates to the second paginated section of the book, under which page number the account of that individual, department or company can be found.

Adhered to the inside front page is a letter that was sent to all debtors on 23 April 1931. Also inserted into the front page are three permit to travel forms issued to Mrs D J Fleming, Mrs Fleming (nee Renouf) and H Sanderson.

The individuals, departments and companies are listed as follows:

A and B:
Awatoto Ballast and Company
Acetone Illuminating and Welding Company Limited
Anderson and Hansen
Amner's Lime Company
Angus W M
Brennan J
Bartle J
Bartle E
Boyle B
Bissell E
Bailey Mrs
Boyd Mrs A
Bank of New Zealand

C and D:
Cooper G
Craig J
Clive Square Canteen
Carlyle Street Depot
Citizen's Control Committee
Clothing Control
Defence Department
Davis A B
Daily Telegraph
Dalgety and Company
Davis R N
Dods S C

E and F:
Edgar Dr
Fletcher Construction
Fox F W

G and H:
Gas Company
Giles Mrs
Green J
Holt and Sons
Hastings Street Food Supply Depot
Hawke's Bay Motor Company
Harvey Gas
Hawke's Bay Rivers Board
Hawke's Bay County Council
Hawke's Bay Electric Power Board
Hawke's Bay Education Board
Hawke's Bay Hospital
Howard T R
Hastings A A
Health Department
Hawke's Bay Farmers Cooperative Association
Hill Nelson

I, J and K:
Jordan H
Johnstone Mrs H
Johansen C H
Kelly Wm
Kyle Mrs

L and M:
Laing D S and Son
Lerew Motors
Labour Department
Morse C
Murdock J N
Machartlee Rev
Māori Relief

Mc and N:
Mc Grath W J
McCosh Mrs
McGregor Victor
McLean C
New Zealand Shipping Company
National Tobacco Company
Napier Borough Council
New Zealand Railways
Napier Timber Company
Napier Harbour Board
National Bank
Nelson Park Food Supply Depot
New Zealand Loan and Mercantile Agency
Napier Food Control Committee

O and P:
Oulton Dr
Orbell A
Orbell H
Mrs O'Keefe
O'Rourke J
Public Works Department
Police Department
Post and Telegraph
Plowman W and Sons
Phillips Mrs
Powell H S
Patrol Relief
Puketapu Relief

Q and R:
Red Cross
Richardson and Company
Reardon and Wright
Rayment S

S and T:
Swailes Limited
Sainsbury and Williams
Stephenson Trading Company
Sear E
Spriggs M
Symons W K
Smith Frank
Simson Jan
Squires Capt
Smith F G
Siberia Camp
Stewart J
Sargent H
Transport Office
Tasker Mrs A

V and W:
Vulcan Foundry
Westshore Relief Depot
Williams and Kettle
Williams and Son
Williams and Creagh
Walker and McBeath
White Gordon B

Y and Z:

Adhered into the back page is a printout of calculations from a counting machine.
Production date
Post 03 Feb 1931
Production period
Production technique
Media/Materials description
Book with black shot silk like cover, red tape spine, with tabulated alphabetical front section and paginated second section, handwritten on lined paper.
Length x Width: 328 x 210mm
Subject period
Subject date
Credit line
from the Public Trust Office
Other number(s)
m98/62, 67312


Public comments

Be the first to comment on this object record.

Google reCaptchaThis site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.