Minute Book, Hawke's Bay Philosophical Institute

Hawke's Bay Philosophical Institute
Colenso, William
Production date
Current rights
Public Domain
See full details

Object detail

Brief Description
a) The minute book for the Hawke's Bay Philosophical Institute, Napier, records the monthly meetings for the period 1874 - 1896.

The inaugural meeting held on 14 September 1874 is recorded. The resolution passed was: that it is highly expedient to form under the New Zealand Institute Act of 1864 a branch Society or Institute for the Province of Hawke's Bay to be called the Hawke's Bay Philosophical Institute and that we whose names are here under written do this day unite in forming this Society - J D Ormond, Thos Tanner, T K Newton, F W C Sturm, John Chambers, ... (difficult to read), Charles ... (difficult to read), William Waiapu, William Colenso, W I Spencer, J G Kinross, John Hall, John Alexander Smith, J Murray Gibbes, M Hutchinson, G ..., J S Smalley, N R Holder, Andrew Luff.
J D Ormond was elected the first President, Dr Williams Bishop of Waiapu Vice President. William Colenso was elected secretary and treasurer.

With the minute book are:
b) A newspaper cutting dated 11th July and titled Philosophical Institute.
c) A newspaper cutting with no date titled Philosophical Institute.
d) A list of items acquired by the Hawke's Bay Philosophical Society.
e) A paper written by Charles J Cooke.
f) A nomination form for Mr Boyd of Tokomaru. g) A label for quicksilver.
Production date
Media/Materials description
Leather spine and corners; green linen hard cover; printed on paper with black ink.
Height x Width: 340 x 230mm
Hawkes Bay Art Society, Bookplate
Subject date
Credit line
gifted by the Royal Society of New Zealand
Other number(s)
4376, q091 Con, 65734


Public comments

Be the first to comment on this object record.

Google reCaptchaThis site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.